Massage Your Stress Away!

If you’ve never had a massage before, I urge you to get one within the next week. It’s an experience that can change you forever! Do not take this lightly, because the truth is a massage every month or so can be extremely beneficial for every aspect of your life, from physical injuries to your mental health. The beginning of massage therapy was way before our time; it’s said to be traced back almost 5000 years! The well-known origin for massage took place in China where ordinary men and women would use their oils and herbs to relieve their pain or stress and to enrich their well-being. The modern term for Chinese massage is tui-na, which means “push-pull”. It’s what signifies the type of movement you receive while getting a massage, which is basically pushing and pulling the muscles around, in the correct way. The Old Chinese medical books have evidence that it used to be practised by primary physicians on a day to day basis.

Massages help relieve stress, pain and headaches or migraines, and they can also be great for digestive issues!

I started to get massages a few years ago when I was extremely stressed and even when I had migraines. My masseuse would use a peppermint smelling lotion on my temples and my neck when I had migraines, and it was the only thing that would help with the pain.  I haven’t stopped getting massages since about three years ago. It’s an amazing feeling, being in a place where you’re the only person who matters. Your body is in the centre of the room for the masseuse’s disposal. It’s their job to make you feel better again, in your lower back or your neck, your arms or the very tip of your toes; it’s completely up to them. You are in control of nothing except for the way that you lay down, and you can always change position if you become uncomfortable. Not to be egoistic, but I sometimes love those moments when I’m the only person who matters, and I know that I’m not the only one who feels that way. Most masseuses that I’ve had in the past years have been someone that I can confide in whenever something is on my mind, and we could talk about almost anything! When you have a connection with your massage therapist, it’s even better.

It lowers your heart rate and blood pressure, relaxes your muscles and increases the production of endorphins, your body’s natural “feel-good” chemical.

In some places, massages could be more expensive than others, so I have a solution for those of you in that situation; trade massages with your friends, your significant other or someone in your family! Some of my best friends and I used to do a “Massage Train” when we would all hang out together. About 3 to 6 of us would sit in a line one behind the other and massage the back and neck of the person in front of you. There was always one lucky person who didn’t have to massage someone for the rotation of 5-minutes, and the unlucky one who had to massage while not getting one. Either way, we would make sure everyone had their turn! As stupid as it could sound to someone who’s never done it before, it worked for us. Also, If you decide to do this with your partner, it could also spice things up in the romance department. If you use some scented oils and yummy-smelling candles, you could add this on to a date night, or you could even just be a lovely person and surprise them with it!

Who could say no to a massage? I can honestly say that I don’t see any downsides to them, although in my case when my feet are being massaged it sometimes feels like I’m being tickled. When that happens, I usually accidentally kick my leg out as a warning, but as soon as I start to jitter, they know that it’s a sensitive spot for me. Other than that happening every few times, the feeling is completely relaxing, and it’s an enlightening experience. I’ve yet to meet someone who hasn’t enjoyed it or who hasn’t felt some relief afterwards! To me, the best part of a massage is that it’s a natural way of healing.

 

Leave a Reply

